Level 1A

  • 04 August
    8 weeks (Wednesday 6:00pm - 7:30pm)
    Feilding - 205 Kimbolton Road
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Wed 04 Aug 18:00 - Wed 04 Aug 19:30
    Feilding - 205 Kimbolton Road
    Session 2
    Wed 11 Aug 18:00 - Wed 11 Aug 19:30
    Feilding - 205 Kimbolton Road
    Session 3
    Wed 18 Aug 18:00 - Wed 18 Aug 19:30
    Feilding - 205 Kimbolton Road
    Session 4
    Wed 25 Aug 18:00 - Wed 25 Aug 19:30
    Feilding - 205 Kimbolton Road
    Session 5
    Wed 01 Sep 18:00 - Wed 01 Sep 19:30
    Feilding - 205 Kimbolton Road
    Session 6
    Wed 08 Sep 18:00 - Wed 08 Sep 19:30
    Feilding - 205 Kimbolton Road
    Session 7
    Wed 15 Sep 18:00 - Wed 15 Sep 19:30
    Feilding - 205 Kimbolton Road
    Session 8
    Wed 22 Sep 18:00 - Wed 22 Sep 19:30
    Feilding - 205 Kimbolton Road
    • $80.00 incl. GST
    Event is fullJoin waiting list
  • 05 August
    8 weeks (Thursday 6:30pm - 8:00pm)
    Porirua - 22 Prosser Street
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Thu 05 Aug 18:30 - Thu 05 Aug 20:00
    Porirua - 22 Prosser Street
    Session 2
    Thu 12 Aug 18:30 - Thu 12 Aug 20:00
    Porirua - 22 Prosser Street
    Session 3
    Thu 19 Aug 18:30 - Thu 19 Aug 20:00
    Porirua - 22 Prosser Street
    Session 4
    Thu 26 Aug 18:30 - Thu 26 Aug 20:00
    Porirua - 22 Prosser Street
    Session 5
    Thu 02 Sep 18:30 - Thu 02 Sep 20:00
    Porirua - 22 Prosser Street
    Session 6
    Thu 09 Sep 18:30 - Thu 09 Sep 20:00
    Porirua - 22 Prosser Street
    Session 7
    Thu 16 Sep 18:30 - Thu 16 Sep 20:00
    Porirua - 22 Prosser Street
    Session 8
    Thu 23 Sep 18:30 - Thu 23 Sep 20:00
    Porirua - 22 Prosser Street
    • $40.00 incl. GST
    Register1 place remaining

Description

Unit 1: Meeting and Greeting

  • exchange greetings and make introductions

  • understand simple class instructions

  • learn about the use of facial expression in NZSL

  • understand  about Deaf culture

  • learn to get, and give, eye gaze before signing

  • learn numbers 1-10

  • learn the fingerspelling alphabet, spell their own name, and ask for repetition

Unit 2: Our Class

  • name language(s) they are learning

  • give and follow simple instructions and action commands

  • ask for clarification, correction and confirmation

  • ask and tell where something is in the class

  • use appropriate phrases for arriving late to class

  • use numbers for counting (0-20) and simple time phrases in relation to class activities 

Unit 3: Needs and Wants

  • name common food and drink items

  • make and respond to requests and offers for basic wants and needs

  • express likes and dislikes

  • understand basic signs about emergency exit procedures